Clifton Business, Professional, Occupational License
BPOL Reminder: Town Code Sec. 4-9 permits the levy of penalties up to 10% for failure to file and/or pay; Sec. 4-14 establishes criminal penalties for failing to apply; and, Sec. 9-10.i. provides that Use Permits expire three months after notice is given that BPOL is delinquent. Questions should be addressed to the Town Treasurer.
Clifton Car Tags
Town of Clifton Code, Section 7-2 Motor Vehicle License Required. The annual registration period runs from October 5 to the following October 4 of the next calendar year. That makes the FY2015 registration period October 5, 2014 to October 4, 2015. Fairfax County Code Section 4-17.2-4 (2) Town Rules further direct residents of Clifton to register vehicles and pay the fee to the Town instead of the County; personal property taxes are still due to the County.
Town Code Sec. 7-11 imposes a fine for failing to comply with the Vehicle Tag provisions of $125 and/or a maximum of 5 days imprisonment. Questions should be addressed to the Town Treasurer. Residents of Clifton register their cars with the Town of Clifton instead of Fairfax County. Personal Property taxes, however, are still paid to Fairfax County. For further information, review Fairfax County's requirement here: Fairfax County Vehicle Registration - Town Rules and Requirements
General Construction and Zoning Information, see FAQ#4 Town of Clifton Frequently Asked Questions
Building Permits are covered in Clifton Town Code Section 9-10.1 Buildings: The erection of all buildings and all structures, additions, deleteions, and modifications thereto, shall be subject to the provision of Chapter 61 of the Code of Fairfax County, Virginia. However, no building or structure, or addition, deletion, and modification thereto shall be erected until a Fairfax County Building Permit Application has been approved by Fairfax County, Virginia.
Clifton Architectural Review Board meets at 7:30 p.m. the last Thursday of the month at 12642B Chapel Rd, Clifton.